More than 6,000 undergraduate and graduate students have received journalism degrees from the University of Maryland since today's Philip Merrill College of Journalism was founded as a department in 1945. Today, College alumni are leaders in newspapers, magazines, and TV and radio news organizations around the country and the world.

Four alums have won the Pulitzer Prize: Jane Healy ('71) of The Orlando Sentinel, Patrick Sloyan ('62) of Newsday, Jon Franklin ('70), now an emeritus faculty member of the Philip Merrill College of Journalism, who twice won the prize when he was with The (Baltimore) Evening Sun, and most recently Sarah Cohen ('92), Knight Professor of the Practice of Journalism and Public Policy at Duke University, formerly of The Washington PostConnie Chung ('69) is a former TV anchor/correspondent for CBS, CNN, NBC, ABC and MSNBC. Former USA Today columnist DeWayne Wickham ('74), a founder and former national president of the National Association of Black Journalists, is a Distinguish Professor of Journalism and Chair of Communication Studies at Morgan State (Md.) University. Tim Brant ’73, is vice president/director of sports for ABC7 WJLA-TV, in Washington, D.C. and an ACC basketball announcer. Emilio Garcia Ruiz ’84 is managing editor for digital initiatives and operations at The Washington Post. Tim Kurkjian ’78, is ESPN and ESPN the Magazine senior writer and Major League baseball analyst.

And some of our most recent alums are already making their mark in the field. At The New York Times, Winnie Hu ('99) is a reporter and Deborah Leiderman ('94) is a copy editor. Raja Mishra ('94) is a reporter at The Boston Globe. Natalie Hopkinson ('00), Dana Hedgpeth ('96), Krissah Williams ('02) and January Payne ('03) are at The Washington Post. Mike Dunston ('93) is a weekend anchor for Eyewitness News ABC 11 in Durham, N.C., while Bonnie Bernstein ('92) covers sports for ABC/ESPN. Emmy-winner Angela Davis ('90) is a morning and mid-day anchor at ABC affiliate KSTP-TV in Minneapolis-St. Paul. Karen Masterson and Lisa Friedman are Washington correspondents for The Houston Chronicle and The Oakland Tribune respectively.

But the true mark of our program is the alumni and friends who have helped the College rise to national prominence. You can share -- and add -- to our continued success. Here's how:

  • Send us an update on your accomplishments. Fill out our online form so we can keep in touch. 
  • Learn about the Board of Visitors, the industry leaders who further the mission of the College through their advisement, fundraising and advocacy.
  • Contribute Financially. Donate online through the University of Maryland College Park Foundation or think about making a planned gift. Contact Frank Quine in our external relations office for more information.


Where are you working? Put it on our Google Map!


View Philip Merrill College of Journalism Alumni in a larger map